Republic day India

What is Republic

A republic is a form of government in which the country is considered a “public matter”, not the private concern or property of the rulers. The primary positions of power within a republic are not inherited but are attained through democracy, oligarchy or autocracy. It is a form of government under which the head of state is not a monarch.

What is Republic Day

A Republic Day is a holiday to commemorate the day when a country became a republic. In some countries, it is known as National Day or Proclamation Day, or by some other sort of name.

Republic day of India

India gained its independence on 15 August 1947, after which the process of preparing a constitution was started. The Constitution was passed on 26 November 1949 in the Constituent Assembly. It was adopted on 26 January 1950 with a democratic government system. 26 January was selected because it was this day in 1930 when the Declaration of Indian Independence was passed
TheReublic day parade held in Delhi, Capital of India, is a show of  India’s Defence Capability, Cultural and Social Heritage.

Interesting Things about Indian Republic Day

1. The first Republic Day of India was celebrated three years after India got Independence that is, on January 26, 1950. Actually, it took 2 years and 11 months for the Indian Constitution to be drafted.
2.Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the first President of India took the Oath of Presidentship for the first time on January 26th, 1950.
3. During the Republic Day parade, a Christian song “Abide With Me” is played.
4. India holds the record of having the world’s longest Constitution with 448 Articles in 25 parts and 12 schedules. Indian Constitution is handwritten in two languages- Hindi & English. 
5. President of India takes the salute of Republic day parade. Only once president (S. Radhakrishnan) did not take salute due to his ill health.
6. Since 1950, India has been hosting head of state or government of another country as the state guest of honor for Republic Day celebrations in New Delhi.
Countries invited as chief guests for the Republic Day parade.
   Two times Yugoslavia
   Five times (France, UK)
   Four times (Bhutan, Russia/USSR)
   Three times (Indonesia, Mauritius)
   Two times (Brazil, Japan, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam)
    One time United States

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Close Menu